Weddings Naija Style

Hey dearies!!! How has the week been? Fine hopefully. As for me I am feeling a little sick and fatigued. This is my sister’s wedding week so there have been alot of work to do.  Despite all the stress I have some how managed to create time to contemplate and write on weddings in Nigeria.

If there is one thing Nigerians know how to do excellently,  it is par-tay! I believe we are gifted at turning what was meant to be a casual gathering to a full fledged party. One of the many avenues available to us (Nigerians) to do what we do best, are weddings.  Don’t you just love weddings!?

Weddings in Nigeria has always been like festivals.  It is however changing dimesnsion; it is fast  growing to become a circus. Yes!, I said ‘a circus’. People tend to put on shows for people who they should not really care about.  They are forced to put on clowny smiles even when their hearts says differently.  Extended family members sometimes take the opportunity to intrude even when their opinion or help is not requested for.  Sometimes guests are practically ‘forced’ to buy the popular ‘asoebi’* which serves as an identifier or risk being a perpetual enemy to the seller (usually the couple). There is also the chance of being rudely ignored by the ‘waiters’ – usually made up of family members more than hired hands – who attempts to map your closeness to the couple by your identity card,  the asoebi. There is also a mass attendance of people who bear no direct or indirect relationship, for that matter, with the couple ( I am guilty!  I once attended a wedding despite the identity of the couple being unknown to me because a friend from outta town invited me and that was the only chance I had to see him).

Despite the excesses that may plague the steorotypical Nigerian wedding,  there are things that make me endeared to them:

– I like that it is a compulsory reunion of family and friends, more or less.

– I love the excitement and fun that accompanies it.

– I like that it creates the opportunity for one to visit new places. Aside: My two (2) visits to Ibadan were for weddings.

– I watch to see how entertaining the couple’s entrance dance is.

Below are the thoughts of a few friends/family on wedding Naija style:

Nigerian weddings!!!Hmmmm…I love the excitement that comes with it; I guess that applies to weddings in general…I love Nigerian weddings because the rich culture. For example the yorubas, their engagement is a lovely one with many letters and scrolls involved. The parties, they sure know how to do that well. I love Nigerian weddings for the fact that your whole family even distant ones are involved and they participate where they are needed…Hmmmm the asoebis ladies/guys is another part of it. I tend to look out for them in any wedding because of styles that might interest me – Faith Aluyi

Overrated… Too many unneeded just to please a crowd… And we just happen to care too much about the crowd – Oise Tunde

The one thing I look out for the most in Nigerian weddings is when the bride changes outfits. Representing both her culture and that of the groom. Alot of ladies put alot of thought into their outfits for that special day, so they always turn out looking colourful and amazing… I would really love to see more father daughter dances. I have often wondered how I am going to pull that off especially with the fact that I can be crowd shy, but that’s really something I would really want to see in more Nigerian weddings and definitely look forward to mine with my dad too. After all he was the first man to ever, truly love me for who I am – Ivy Oisamoje

I look out for fashion; makeup, hairdo, shoes, native attire and english attire. Who made the best style with the asoebi? Who does the bridesmaid dress suit the most? Who’s wearing the best accessories? Whose make up looks professionally done?

Then the reception venue –  How creative is the decoration? Is the venue well airconditioned? How entertaining is the MC?

Post wedding I look out for quality photography. I love ‘out of the box’ ‘capture the moment’ photos.

In addition to the above,  I watch out for the food, although that is the least I think about but it is a bonus to do the wedding analysis on a full stomach 😀 – Lola Adeoti

The dancing, the attires and most especially the customs/the various hurdles the guy has to go through before he claims his bride  – Ali Matthew

 

I would say, weddings in Nigeria are the equivalent of Christmas celebrated in western nations. What do you think about Nigerian weddings?

*Asoebi: Fabric bought by close friends and family during an occassion as a means of identifying with the celebrant.

I would like to know what you think about my posts. Please drop a comment and I will try to reply every one of them. Comments on this blog are moderated and will only appear after approval. Kindly select the 'follow comment' option to be notified of replies. Cheers!

