Day Fifteen: Why was it Discontinued?!

I just joined The Daily Post’s Writing 101 challenge after 15 days.

Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force.

How does that make you feel?

T@5 is (or was) an acronymn for Thursday at 5.00pm.

Every Thursday at 5.00pm all roads led to the church auditorium for what I would call a youths’ hangout. The first time I attended was not the time I got hooked. Ironically, my first impression of the gathering intially was somewhat that of ambivalence. But after subsequent attendance I was like a junkie who could’nt get enough of the white substance; I was hooked!

Pardon my reference but these meetings could be likened to AA meetings, or at least my perception of what AA meetings are like. There was always something new to learn; grounds were always open for people to bare their hearts and souls. The word of God was constantly been broken down into edible bits; essentials for pratical Christian living was daily exposed. The icing on the cake for me – and many others if I am allowed to speak for the crowd – was the fact that the person standing on the podium was just like me and could understand better than most others.

When I was told that the T@5 meeting will no longer hold, sincerely, I could’nt care less. I shrugged and said to myself ‘one less church activity’. But now, over a year later,  I say that the T@5  youths’ hangout was more than a church activity and I ask in confusion, why was it discontinued?!

4 thoughts on “Day Fifteen: Why was it Discontinued?!

I would like to know what you think about my posts. Please drop a comment and I will try to reply every one of them. Comments on this blog are moderated and will only appear after approval. Kindly select the 'follow comment' option to be notified of replies. Cheers!

