Day Sixteen: Lost and Found

Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.

This is coming a day late. This was due to a hectic work schedule. I hope you enjoy it. Your criticisms will be much appreciated.

Rummaging through the old trunk all I could find were old dusty photos.  Amidst this pile one photograph stood out. In it was an ingenious teenage girl. The flowery dress she wore hung off her slender shoulders like the sagging jaws of a bulldog. It wasn’t borrowed; from the fit I could tell that it was a hand down.

In the backdrop was a make shift swing; made of an old racked truck tire tied up to an aged-looking mahoghany tree. For some reason I couldn’t yet place my fingers on, it reminded me of a time when I was younger.

In those days of my youth I was the girl who walked into the room and caught the attention of all. All the young men and women. While the men wanted to win me like trophies, I was the object of the ladies’ envy and scorn because they wanted to be me. That was in time past.

These days, I miss those days. However, I am glad for what I have and who I am. Times change; people change. Life’s experiences transformed me like time betters a wine. I am no longer who I used to be. I like the new me that came with time. Though wrinkly and slow, what I am now is what I found.

I would like to know what you think about my posts. Please drop a comment and I will try to reply every one of them. Comments on this blog are moderated and will only appear after approval. Kindly select the 'follow comment' option to be notified of replies. Cheers!

