Happy Day

Yesterday was one of those happy days for me. One of those days when you feel a sense of purpose and fulfillment. I got a message from a student and it certianly made my day.

Photo Credit: nature.desktopnexus.com

Photo Credit: nature.desktopnexus.com

My dearly beloved and highly esteemed lecturer…Please let me express my gratitude for all the efforts in giving us in depth lectures.  It is a privilege.  I love your accent; I love your style; I love EVERYTHING about you!  Whoa! It is amazing!  I am proud to have you as my lecturer. Please keep the flag flying. I pray earnestly that I can be able to reproduce all you have taught me during the exams because I wouldn’t  like to disappoint you.  Have a nice day.

As soon as I concluded reading this I began bubbling with excitement because I knew for sure this was genuine and that the student wasn’t trying to ‘bobo’ me because he/she is a first class candidate.

I think every now and then, we should be constantly reminded of  how much our work means to other people and also, we should not forget to send words of encouragement to the ones who have imparted us. This could give this person the needed drive to go the extra mile when the chips are down. As per his comment about my ‘accent’, I have no idea what he is talking about…lol. I do not think I have a unique accent.

I feel encouraged when I know someone is reading what I am writing. Do drop a comment below and also follow the blog. If you are have difficulties subscribing kindly drop a comment below and I am sure I will be able to help. Thanks! Muah!!

8 thoughts on “Happy Day

  1. Like I’ve said before, I enjoy reading your write ups, most especially the short stories. It surely is a tap on the shoulder when we get nice compliments. Keep up the good work.

  2. Aww!!! That is so nice. I agree with you, we should offer words of encouragement to people and not internalise what we feel about them. We should create opportunities to show our gratitudes to people as we don’t know how our words of affirmation could make a difference in people’s lives. Although it is known that females usually struggle to compliment each other while males are quick to compliment ladies. It will be interesting to know whether your pupil that complimented you was a male or female student.
    Let me use this avenue to offer a genuine compliment as well.
    Grace Mary, I really love your creativity,.i.e.your fashion, your business, your love for photography, when you love something, you usually run with the vision, you are a goal getter. I could recollect when you told me that you lecture, I was so proud of you as I never knew that young adults can work as a lecturer/assistant lecturer.

    • Thanks Lafunky. Wow! Thanks again for your comment. Appreciate it. It is always refreshing to know that at least one person sees the effort you put into your work and appreciates it.

      I never thought I could teach young adults as well. But once I had my eyes set on the goal it was done by the grace of God.

I would like to know what you think about my posts. Please drop a comment and I will try to reply every one of them. Comments on this blog are moderated and will only appear after approval. Kindly select the 'follow comment' option to be notified of replies. Cheers!

