Lemon Tart Recipe

I got this lemon tart recipe from Nestle and ever since my first trial I racked in loads of compliments from my lab rats…lol. Being the cheerful giver that I am, I decided to share.
image

 

Ingredients

For the pastry:
125 g butter, softened
½ cup icing sugar
1¼ cups plain flour, sifted

For the filling:
4 eggs
1½ cups caster sugar
124 g lemon juice
1 tablespoon lemon peel, finely grated
1 tin NESTLÉ® Cream or 170 g
¼ cup plain flour or 30 g

For garnishing:
2 tablespoons icing sugar, for dusting

Preparation

Place all pastry ingredients in a food processor and process until the mixture forms dough. Alternately, beat together the butter and icing sugar until light and fluffy and then stir in the sifted flour. Wrap in plastic cling film and chill for 10 minutes until firm, then rollout on a lightly floured board. Line a 26cm × 2cm loose based flan dish with the pastry and place in the freezer to chill for ten minutes.

Cover the pastry with a sheet of baking paper and fill with rice. Bake in a preheated 180 °C oven for 15 minutes. Remove the rice and paper and bake for a further 5 minutes or until light golden brown.

To prepare the filling, beat together the eggs and caster sugar until thick then beat in the lemon juice, lemon rind, NESTLÉ® Cream and flour. Pour into the pastry shell, return to the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until the filling is just set. Allow to cool before removing from the tin and serving, dusted with icing sugar

Geemayree’s Note:
Although I totally love this  recipe over time I have made adjustments to it to suit my personal prrference.
1. I reduced the sugar added to the tart shell by half making it 1/4 cup because the overall end product became a tad bit too sweet. However,  if you have a sweet tooth then this will be just perfect for you.

2. For the filling, I realised that the mixture was way too much. During my first attempt,  the dough for the tart shells covered 4 mini tart pans while I had about half the filling leftover after pouring into all the shells. So here you have two options, either to cut the amount of filling to about half or increase the dough measurement by quarter or a little bit just over quarter.

3. Lastly, for the filling mixture I added a little more than 1/4 cup or 30g of flour required by the recipe.  Roughly about 45g and I loved the consistency of the filling when done.

I hope you have fun baking! Will love to see the results.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Tart Recipe

I would like to know what you think about my posts. Please drop a comment and I will try to reply every one of them. Comments on this blog are moderated and will only appear after approval. Kindly select the 'follow comment' option to be notified of replies. Cheers!

