Breakfast in Three Steps: Crepe

My current situation places me in a predicament where I helplessly crave ‘oyinbo’ food but cannot get-up-and-cook however early in the day or late at night it is, as is my usual tradition. I recently stumbled on an old photo I had of when I made crepes and my stomach began rumbling with excitement. So in my good nature 😉 thought to share. Crepes are a French variant of pancakes; they are slimmer. They are typically served plain or spread with a filling like butter, sugar, jam, chocolate or even something spicy. In the photo above, I have banana chunks, currant and chocolate-y fillings.

Ingredients

2 large eggs

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup water

1 cup flour 

Sugar ( 2 ½ Tablespoons. Add more for a sweeter result)

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Flavouring 3 tablespoons melted butter

Butter, for coating the pan (substitute with Olive Oil )

Method

I am all about short cuts! I look for ways to do stuff quickly while achieving maximum result. With that said, our preparation method for our recipe is fast track. Its only three steps. Did I hear a hurrah?!

Step 1: Toss all ingredients in a blender and mix for about 10-15 seconds.

Step 2: Place batter in the refrigerator for 45 minutes to 1 hour. This allows the bubbles to subside so the crepes will be less likely to tear during cooking. Note: Batter can be prepared at night and left to rest in the refrigerator overnight to be used for breakfast. It can be used a maximum of 48 hours after time of preparation.

Step 3: Place a small non-stick pan on medium heat. Add butter/Olive Oil to coat. Using a soup spoon to scoop, pour batter into the center of the pan and swirl to spread evenly. Cook for 30 seconds and flip. Cook for another 10 seconds. On a tray or cutting board, lay them out flat so they can cool. Continue until all batter is gone.

Tips: I do not have a measure for the quantity I pour into the pan per time. I use my eye gauge…lol. The trick is to ensure the amount doled is just enough to cover the circumference of pan so that it turns out thin. About 2 ½ table spoon will do the trick. – I tried using the pan to flip my crepe once and it landed on the floor. Okay, okay! You got me. Was just kidding…lol. But I imagine that happening quite often. Checked google for an alternative method and voila! found one that works superbly for me. Calm down. I will share. I turn out the crepe on a flat plate and the shove it back into the pan to cook.

– Crepes can be stored in the refrigerator for several days or in the freezer for up to two months in a ziploc bac. When using frozen crepes, thaw on a rack before gently peeling apart. To get my look, cut chunks of Banana, mix with currant and fill Crepe. Top with sprinkle and chocolate spread.

One thought on “Breakfast in Three Steps: Crepe

I would like to know what you think about my posts. Please drop a comment and I will try to reply every one of them. Comments on this blog are moderated and will only appear after approval. Kindly select the 'follow comment' option to be notified of replies. Cheers!

